rewriter throws errors when calling web service

May 7, 2009 at 5:37 PM
I'm setting up url-rewriter for a major change to my blog. My main interest is to change post titles used by the blog engine that I've been using for a few years (Community Server) into a format appropriate for the site's new backend, BlogEngine.

That's working fine. Thanks.

But I run into a problem when I try to call a web service with the rewrite engine turned on. If I call the web service's WebMethod using the HTTP GET verb, I get a 404 "File does not exist" exception on the call. (The same service works fine with 'RewriteEngine off').

Using a webmethod with Rewriter appears to require some kind of special rule for the service, but multiple searches haven't yet revealed to me what the extra step is. I'm guessing the rule would have something to do with {REQUEST_METHOD}, but I'm not a skilled mod_rewrite jockey and can't figure out what to do with it. I'd appreciate suggestions.

(BTW, I'm running Ajax on the site. As I said, it all works fine without Rewriter, but breaks when Rewriter is turned on

This is the exception that's thrown with when the service method is called with the GET verb:
[HttpException]: File does not exist.
   at System.Web.StaticFileHandler.GetFileInfo(String virtualPathWithPathInfo, String physicalPath, HttpResponse
 response)
   at System.Web.StaticFileHandler.ProcessRequestInternal(HttpContext context)
   at System.Web.DefaultHttpHandler.BeginProcessRequest(HttpContext context, AsyncCallback callback,
 Object state)
   at System.Web.HttpApplication.CallHandlerExecutionStep.System.Web.HttpApplication.IExecutionStep.Execute
()
If I call the service using the default POST verb, the exception thrown is even more problematic.

This is the exception thrown when POST is used for the webmethod:

[HttpException]: The HTTP verb POST used to access path 'ServiceName.asmx/MethodName' is not allowed